Friday, January 6, 2012

Spokane Valley Mayor To Be Selected Jan. 10

City of Spokane Valley Councilmembers will elect their 2012-2013 Mayor and Deputy Mayor during the January 10 council meeting.

In Spokane Valley, the mayor and deputy mayor are selected by a majority vote of councilmembers from among their colleagues on the City Council. In addition to serving as the chair of the Council, the mayor retains his/her role as a regular Councilmember, including voting rights. The mayor is also recognized as the head of the city for ceremonial purposes and by the governor for purposes of military law.

Everyone is welcome to attend the 6 pm ceremony in Council Chambers at City Hall, 11707 E. Sprague Avenue, Suite 101.

No comments:

About SRTC

SRTC is the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for Spokane County. Urbanized areas with populations exceeding 50,000 people are required to have an MPO. SRTC was formed to address the county's transportation planning needs. It provides coordination in planning between the public, cities, small towns, the county, the state, transit providers, and tribes.

SRTC offers services including transportation monitoring, transportation modeling, census information analysis, travel demand forecasting, historical traffic count analysis, geographic information systems, and trip generation rates.