Monday, December 21, 2009

New Flashing Signs At Two Area Schools

Spokane County Engineers have installed new flashing beacon school zone signs at Mullan Road Elementary School on Spokane's south hill and Linwood Elementary located in north Spokane County.

The flashing beacon school zone signs are part of an overall traffic safety requirement that protects more than 630,000 elementary school age children in Washington State. They were funded by Washington Traffic Safety Commission, Spokane County Engineering and Roads, and Spokane Public Schools.

Flashing yellow beacon lighting is one of the most effective ways to reduce speeds of vehicles in school zones. On average, drivers travel five to seven miles per hour slower when the flashing yellow school zone lights are present.

No comments:

About SRTC

SRTC is the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for Spokane County. Urbanized areas with populations exceeding 50,000 people are required to have an MPO. SRTC was formed to address the county's transportation planning needs. It provides coordination in planning between the public, cities, small towns, the county, the state, transit providers, and tribes.

SRTC offers services including transportation monitoring, transportation modeling, census information analysis, travel demand forecasting, historical traffic count analysis, geographic information systems, and trip generation rates.